Do's and Don'ts while starting a forum?

forum

(vamshi) #1

Hi Hbb,

How to build a forum? .
I have 5000+ followers all are active. My niche is on Education. After my little research i found an interesting plugin
Anspress.io as of now it fulfil my needs. I have no knowledge in Php css etc etc. So i am happy with that Q&A plugin.

Anyone can help me with Do’s and Don’ts?
I have a doubt as its a forum some people posts other website links?
Does it effects my rankings?

Whats your preference ? Is it good to start this in sub domain or on the same domain?

(Pradeep Kumar) #2

Hi @NAga_VaMshi, best wishes for starting a forum. :slight_smile:

A forum is more like a Facebook group these days, but, unfortunately, unlike Facebook, our forum is not popular, so we need to build from scratch. Consider your forum as your blog’s ‘comments’ section. Here everybody can post their views, discuss anything and ask queries.

These are your goals initially:

1. Increase forum members.

2. Make them interactive and engaging.

3. Repeat 1 & 2.

After that, you can work on your posting and monetization strategies, that is when you get quality traffic via SEO and Social Media. Talking about SEO, let’s discuss the questions you asked:

Just like a blog, it’ll definitely impact your forum’s ranking bro. You shouldn’t allow everyone to post their links (or even other links) on your forum. You need to restrict all these things for the new members. Once you start to build enough backlinks for your forum, you can freely giveaway links on your side.

SEO-wise, some would say, keeping your forum in your sub-directory (like example.com/forum) will be good, but we decided to have a separate hub for our forum, so kept like forum.hellboundbloggers.com :slight_smile:

It’s more like a personal preference these days. Just pick the one you are comfortable with. Hope these are helpful bro, feel free to ask if you have any other queries.

(vamshi) #3

Thanks for ur time bro.